Cisco Data Center & Storage


Designing Cisco Data Center Network Infrastructure

Duration: 5 Days

Who Should Attend

  • Network Administrators
  • Network Engineers
  • Network Designers
  • System Engineers
  • and Network Managers involved with Data Center Infrastructure
An individual course planning is possible for this kind of course. If you would like to know more about this course please either call us on +43 (0)1 70795380 or send an email to

Recommended training for the certification:

  • Cisco Data Center Networking Infrastructure Design Specialist
Course Objectives

Following successful completion of this course, students will be able to identify customer requirements across the entire Cisco Data Center products and solutions portfolio. Students will further be able to design secure, stable and highly-available Data Center networks consisting of access, aggregation and core layers with a focus on Data Center switching platforms and their associated application components.

Course Content

The DCNID course covers the Cisco high end switching portfolio including Nexus 5000, Nexus 7000, Catalyst 6500, Catalyst 4900, and Ethernet Blade switches. You will learn the three main components of the Nexus platform including hardware and software architectures as well as management from the network design perspective. It describes how to design Data Center network architecture implementing Nexus as the Data Center class platform with a variety of features ranging from continuous operation, resiliency and virtualization to power efficiency and management. This course covers Cisco Nexus 5000 and 7000 Switches and associated line cards, Cisco Blade switches, Cisco Catalyst 6500 series switches and modules (Firewall Services Module (FWSM), Intrusion Detection System Module (IDSM), Network Monitoring Module (NAM), Application Acceleration Control Enginee (ACE)), Cisco Catalyst 4900 family switches,Cisco Intrusion Detection System (IDS) and Cisco Intrusion Prevention System (IPS) 4000 family, Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA) 5500 series, Cisco Server Fabric Switch (SFS) family and Cisco Optical Networking System (ONS) 15454. Additionally this course introduces the Cisco Application Networking Services portfolio including ACE module and ACE Appliance.

Course Outline

Module 1: Data Center Design Models
Module 2: The Access Layer
Module 3: The Aggregation Layer
Module 4: The Core Layer
Module 5: Designing for High Availability
Module 6: Securing the Data Center Network
Module 7: Monitoring the Data Center Network

Further information

If you would like to know more about this course please contact us